Governing Board

The Governing Board is charged with the overall direction and governance of SJI. Members of the board lend professional expertise to the organization, assist in fundraising endeavors, and act as a public face for the organization.

                                      i.        Egbert G.Ch. Wesselink, Chair. PAX, Netherlands.

                                     ii.        Ole Solvang, Treasurer. Norwegian Refugee Council, Norway.

                                    iii.        Rachel Denber, Human Rights Watch

                                     vi.        Tanya Mazur, member, Clooney Foundation

Committee of Recommendation

Members of the Committee of Recommendation include internationally renowned human rights activists, journalists, public intellectuals, and policy-makers, all of whom have made significant contributions to the field of human rights. Voices of moral authority within their respective countries and the international community, they serve as the organization’s moral compass, guiding and supporting the mission.

Rainer Eppelmann, Writer

Erik Jurgens, Dutch Senator and member of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

Nataša Kandić, Humanitarian Law Center, Belgrade

Markus Meckel, Member, German Bundestag (SDP)

Nathalie Nougayrede, Le Monde

Lord Russell-Johnston, Member of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (formerly President)

Advisory Committee

Members of the Advisory Committee are legal experts specializing in various aspects of international law, the European Convention on Human Rights, the European Court of Human Rights, and/or Russian law. They provide legal counsel and practical and theoretical advice to RJI.

Anne Bouillon, Avocats sans Frontières France

Professor William Bowring, London Metropolitan University Faculty of Law

Jane Buchanan, Former Executive Director, Russian Justice Initiative

Professor André Nollkaemper, University of Amsterdam Faculty of Law

Gareth Peirce, Birnberg, Peirce and Partners, London

Maria K. Pulzetti, Founding Executive Director, Russian Justice Initiative